2021 World Monuments Fund/ Knoll Modernism Prize

2008 yılından beri modern mimarlık mirasını koruma konusunda yaratıcı mimari ve tasarım çözümleri getiren kurumlara verilen "The World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize" için son başvuru tarihi 15 Haziran 2021.

Prize Description

With the support of founding sponsor Knoll, WMF launched the World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize in 2008 to raise awareness about preservation success stories in buildings that are emblematic of the modern movement. The prize recognizes outstanding and innovative design solutions that save modern architecture associated with the international style.

Forward-thinking. Experimental. Bold. Progressive. Innovative. Once recognized for these defining characteristics, significant modern structures around the world often fall victim to material deterioration, perceived obsolescence, and public apathy. These threats repeatedly result in inappropriate alterations or demolition. As many modern buildings are too young to qualify for landmark designation and protection, the need for preservation and increased public awareness of these unique resources is urgent.

WMF launched the biennial World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize with founding sponsor Knoll in 2008 to recognize the individuals and organizations that preserve our modern built heritage through pioneering architectural and design solutions. The prize honors contemporary architects and preservationists whose work ensures sustainable futures for at-risk modern heritage.

The prize is part of WMF’s broader programming that addresses these challenges facing modern sites through advocacy, education, and conservation, including the World Monuments Watch. The prize stemmed from WMF’s Modernism at Risk initiative, created in 2006 in response to the increasing threats to buildings representative of the modern movement.

The World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize recognizes outstanding physical interventions to preserve modern heritage. Projects that enhance a site’s architectural, economic, and environmental sustainability while engaging and benefiting local stakeholders are encouraged.

About the Prize

World Monuments Fund invites nominations for the 2021 World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize. The Prize will be awarded to architects or preservationists who have implemented an innovative intervention that preserved and saved a threatened modern building or complex.

Nominated projects must have been completed in the last ten years and must have faced challenges or threats that affected the site before the project implementation. Threats may include deterioration of original materials, obsolescence, abandonment, or inappropriate changes in use, ownership, economic or political conditions surrounding the site.


The call for submissions opens on April 15, 2021. The deadline for submissions is June 15, 2021 at 5.00 PM EST and the prize will be awarded in fall.


The Prize will include:

  • A cash honorarium of $10,000
  • A Knoll Barcelona chair
  • Round-trip airfare and hotel accommodations for the winner to attend the award ceremony in New York City
    (pending Covid-19 travel restrictions)

How to Submit a Nomination

To initiate and submit a new nomination, please use the online form at:

Selection Process

An independent jury of architectural scholars, conservators, and professionals in related fields will select the prize winner. The jury is chaired by Barry Bergdoll, Meyer Schapiro Professor of Art History and Archaeology at Columbia University. The prize winner will be announced in fall 2021.

If you have any questions regarding the nomination process or a site’s eligibility, please email [email protected].


Bir cevap yazın